Oregon is a state where drivers must carry liability insurance and uninsured motorist coverage. Carrying insurance is important because it protect you from unexpected costs. When you are involved in accident, you will have to pay the costs of the other party. This can cost you a lot of money if you are not covered by insurance. There is no other way to establish financial responsibility than buying insurance policy. If you are an auto dealer, you can self insure. To find out how to self insure, you should check with the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV).
If you want to register for a vehicle in Oregon, you must get it insured at an authorized company. The minimum liability coverage is $25,000 for per person and $50,000 for per accident. The minimum property damage coverage in Oregeon is $10,000. The minimum requirement for uninsured motorist coverage is $25,000 per person and $50,000 for per accident. The uninsured motorist insurance for property damage has a minimum requirement of $5,000. In addition, you have to get a personal injury protection (PIP). It is important that you get more coverage that the minimum requirement.
There are a few exemptions for the insurance requirements. The DMV determines a variety of vehicles that can be exempted from insurance requirements. If you own an antique car, you don't have to fulfill the insurance requirements. If you own a collector car for display purposes, you also don't have to get it insured. Other types of vehicles that are exempted from car insurance requirements include farm tractors, snowmobiles, scooters, motility devices, and trailers.
Vehicle drivers are required to provide proof of insurance when required by the law enforcement officer. The proof of insurance can be an insurance card or policy. You can provide a letter that has signature of the agent. The signature of the agent should appear on the official letterhead. The DMV Certificate of Self Insurance should has the owner's name. Alternatively, you can use an auto dealer license plate as insurance proof.
The DMV will check the people randomly to see if they are covered by insurance. Without insurance proof, you can get suspended for a few months. Failure to provide insurance proof can cause you to get fined. Your driving license will be suspended. You should file the SR-22 certificate if you don't have insurance proof. Once your license is suspended, you have to pay a number of fines to reinstate it. There are be additional penalty charges when you are driving an uninsured vehicle.
When shopping online for Oregon car insurance, you must use quote comparison tool to find providers that charge cheap rate. You can get quotes from insurance sites and see how much it will cost. The insurance search engine will provide estimate quote based on the information you provide in the quote request form. If you are a young driver, you may face difficulties in finding an affordable rate. However, doing research online carefully allow you to find a provider that is willing to offer cheap rate.
Article By: Alex L